Honda Prelude Forum
 
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Tech-Talk > General Tech Talk > Naturally Aspirated

Thread Title
F22a1 and a6

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2014, 10:09 PM
mbdblue's Avatar
Not So New
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)
mbdblue is on a distinguished road
F22a1 and a6

Looking into swapping the engine and tranny out of my '96 S...but I noticed a lot of these "JDM importers" don't list the number series (I was told this is because the number is from the USDM market). Since my lude is an F22a1 and I got a a6, would I run into any problems? From my research, it seems as though the differences are very little, and that I may just need a PT6 ecu....

Also, is there any way to tell them apart besides the number series since it won't be on the block? I'd like to ask the importer I end up going with if they can check. I know a couple importers in NJ that I had solid business with that I will most likely be going back to.

I want to hang on to my lude for a long time. It's been good to me, but it's pushing 200k and with this coming tax return, I'll probably have enough cash to do the swap.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 05:35 PM
singlecammerjammer's Avatar
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 221
iTrader: (0)
singlecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond reputesinglecammerjammer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F22a1 and a6

200k is nothing! as long as you maintain it, itll last you forever
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 08:03 PM
mbdblue's Avatar
Not So New
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)
mbdblue is on a distinguished road
Re: F22a1 and a6

Quote:
Originally Posted by singlecammerjammer View Post
200k is nothing! as long as you maintain it, itll last you forever
that's what Ive been told....But it definitely needs the transmission; I don't really feel like replacing one if I could do both ya know? I'm a worrier type....If I just did the tranny, I'd be waiting for the engine to go. Before I put more money into it, I'd like to think that mechanically, she's taken care of for a while. Cuz it will need suspension soon, and I'm gonna do the body work in the summer.

I've got about 6,000 watts waiting to go in her too.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 08:55 PM
bigblue7t6's Avatar
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 220
iTrader: (1)
bigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F22a1 and a6

The a6 had a better cam than the a1. Also the a6 had a dual runner intake manifold and the a1 was a single I believe? I used to have an accord with the a6 with 282k on it when I sold it. Original engine, didn't burn a drop of oil. There was also the a4 that came in some accords I believe it was the same as the a1 but came with a tubular header from the factory rather than the cast manifolds that the a1 and a6 were equipped with. If you do wind up with an a6 you can take that brick shaped upper plenum off and replace it with one off of an h23 or h22 and that will really help that engine breathe.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 08:57 PM
bigblue7t6's Avatar
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 220
iTrader: (1)
bigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond reputebigblue7t6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F22a1 and a6

Also you won't have the wiring to operate the iab plate in the manifold so you can remove the butterflies from the plate or remove the plate all together and just get shorter hardware for the lower/upper plenum
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2014, 09:38 PM
mbdblue's Avatar
Not So New
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 32
iTrader: (0)
mbdblue is on a distinguished road
Re: F22a1 and a6

all good info, thanks man....But now that I'm going over my taxes, I may just have enough to do the tranny after all. Kinda sucks, but the next step is a timing belt/water pump... guess for now I'll just have to deal with it. But I'll definitely keep this info in mind for when I need it....hopefully not soon
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2014, 04:55 PM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Arizona
Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)
bowie is on a distinguished road
Re: F22a1 and a6

In the past couple of years reading you are that I have read doing same swap as I am in the middle of doing. Most people would rather do the "H" swap. But for what I would like to accomplish the f22a6 will do just fine. I have elected to keep the iab intact so I kept my eyes open and have finally found the proper wiring harness.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F22a1 swap into H23 car coachkev70 4th Gen Honda Prelude 10 12-31-2012 04:07 PM
f22a1 Rebuild VinceRules General Tech Talk 12 09-22-2012 04:43 AM
f22a1 cams 94ludepj 4th Gen Honda Prelude 12 02-21-2012 03:12 PM
F22a1? Prey_Lood 4th Gen Honda Prelude 8 07-30-2010 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


Copyright © 2006-2009 PreludeZone.com All Rights Reserved.