Honda Prelude Forum
 
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Tech-Talk > 5th Gen Honda Prelude

Thread Title
5th gen F20b questions...

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2011, 02:39 PM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
RicknRolla is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to RicknRolla
5th gen F20b questions...

Hello. I have a 98 Prelude (duh) with a recently completed auto to manual swap that recently had the motor fail... for the second time. In case youre wondering... rod knock.
anyhow, I'm done with this motor and was looking into getting a JDM motor. I've been doing some research on the H23vtec and F20B as replacements motors. Im mostly drawn to the F20B because of the higher revs and steel cylinder walls, unlike the h22 with its frm lined walls. And the lower torque numbers DO NOT bother me.
What I'd like to know is what is all needed to make this swap happen? I'm going to order the motor WITH its ecu.. which is also obd2. I'm wanting to know what changes or modifications will be necessary (aside from the driver side mount and timing cover) to make this work? Any wiring issues I should be aware of?
any info would be helpful. thanks.
-rick
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2011, 05:31 PM
00CDMLUDER's Avatar
Platinum Member
ROTM!
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gwinnett, Ga
Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (1)
00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

Should bolt right up.. You can use the h22 trans.. Not sure bout the ecu though

I'm sure there's threads on this somewhere.. Or someone on here will help you
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:29 PM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 343
iTrader: (0)
UntoTheCruel will become famous soon enoughUntoTheCruel will become famous soon enough
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

i think u can use the prelude ecu..tho ud neeed a 4th gen as the f20b is obd 1 unless of course u convert the motor to obd 2

just make sure u get an f20 from a manual transmission car
__________________
The main thing is to be your self. Many times it is through a mistake that you learn and the main thing is to learn from your mistakes and get better. -Ayrton Senna
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-11-2011, 11:49 PM
LUDEZILLA's Avatar
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Castro Valley, Ca
Posts: 350
iTrader: (0)
LUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond reputeLUDEZILLA has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to LUDEZILLA Send a message via Yahoo to LUDEZILLA
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

just make sure you can register it before you order one, alot of people have problems registering a jdm only engine
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandallSharp View Post
Jeremy, Richard, and James are the only Top Gears hosts in my heart
Quote:
Originally Posted by HondaVerno View Post
Great...another thread where I felt like I learned nothing. I want my life back plzzzzz.
Check out my review!!!!!! do it........do it now

http://www.preludezone.com/product-r...hift-knob.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 12:57 AM
00CDMLUDER's Avatar
Platinum Member
ROTM!
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Gwinnett, Ga
Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (1)
00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute00CDMLUDER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

Register? If he lives in Cali he will have to.. Is that the only state where u have to do that?

I love not having to worry about all that.. Don't even have to bother with emissions over here.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 02:17 AM
T.E.L.'s Avatar
Six Figs Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: On My Pocket PC
Posts: 5,039
iTrader: (0)
T.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to T.E.L. Send a message via MSN to T.E.L.
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00CDMLUDER View Post
Register? If he lives in Cali he will have to.. Is that the only state where u have to do that?

I love not having to worry about all that.. Don't even have to bother with emissions over here.

I'm wondering the same thing too... register the engine for what?

To the thread starter it will be a basic swap. There are going to be a few things your going to want to do before you drop the f20b in. for example oil pump for your crank sensor...

Ace
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 02:57 AM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
RicknRolla is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to RicknRolla
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

The F20b is not OBD1... its OBD2b. Also, I live in Wisconsin and where I've registered my car there are no emissions testing. Just need a title and id lol

But! Tell me more about the oil pump deal. I'm going to use the ecu from the F20b donor car.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 03:00 AM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
RicknRolla is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to RicknRolla
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

And what other things are you referring to?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 09:31 AM
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 174
iTrader: (0)
gchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these partsgchampaninh is infamous around these parts
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

alright brotha i got the same swap due to similar reasons as you. First you'll need your stock engine harness, I'm not sure how the f20b ecu will work for you as I have used my stock one and it's just fine. Ok second, swap over intake manifold, fuel rail, injectors (not needed if the plug into your harness fine because you'll have the ecu), alternator, VTEC solenoid (don't have to, just easier than removing the sensor and placing it onto the f20b), power steering if you want to retain that, and most importantly crank pulley from your old motor, oil pump with sensors, and you can use the stock h22 belt. I know it sounds like a lot of parts to swap over but it's easy since you will be swapping motors so swap over parts while both motors are out. If i left anything out or if you have question let me know. I'm thinking if you get the F20b ecu that you might need a conversion harness to go from OBD2a to OBD2b, or vice versa. However, as i've stated before your stock H22 ecu will work just fine. Our h22's have 2 sensors located on the oil pump that is needed for the car to run properly, however JDM motors have these sensors in their distributors, similar to obd1 style distributors. I'm not sure if you need to swap it over since you have the f20b ecu, unless the conversion harness accounts for it. as for how the car drives, depending on which tranny you get or use (stock vs jdm lsd), will make up the difference in how the car feels over stock. between 1-3.5k RPM's you'll feel the torque difference, not so much in 4k-VTEC rpm's where you'll feel it pull hard.

Last edited by gchampaninh; 09-12-2011 at 09:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:15 AM
T.E.L.'s Avatar
Six Figs Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: On My Pocket PC
Posts: 5,039
iTrader: (0)
T.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to T.E.L. Send a message via MSN to T.E.L.
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicknRolla View Post
The F20b is not OBD1... its OBD2b. Also, I live in Wisconsin and where I've registered my car there are no emissions testing. Just need a title and id lol
if its not obd1 then why won't the ecu plug right in to your fifth gen? I'll give you an example: I've done a few swaps before. One was a 2000 Euro R H22 swap in my 98 lude and that wiring was obd1. the same thing is true with f20b. Like the person who posted above this reply use your current wiring harness. In otherworse convert it to obd2.

Oil pump? do some research and you'll find out all you need to know because it doesn't look like you are ready for this swap.

Ace
__________________


Last edited by T.E.L.; 09-12-2011 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:23 AM
T.E.L.'s Avatar
Six Figs Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: On My Pocket PC
Posts: 5,039
iTrader: (0)
T.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond reputeT.E.L. has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to T.E.L. Send a message via MSN to T.E.L.
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gchampaninh View Post
alright brotha i got the same swap due to similar reasons as you. First you'll need your stock engine harness, I'm not sure how the f20b ecu will work for you as I have used my stock one and it's just fine. Ok second, swap over intake manifold, fuel rail, injectors (not needed if the plug into your harness fine because you'll have the ecu), alternator, VTEC solenoid (don't have to, just easier than removing the sensor and placing it onto the f20b), power steering if you want to retain that, and most importantly crank pulley from your old motor, oil pump with sensors, and you can use the stock h22 belt. I know it sounds like a lot of parts to swap over but it's easy since you will be swapping motors so swap over parts while both motors are out. If i left anything out or if you have question let me know. I'm thinking if you get the F20b ecu that you might need a conversion harness to go from OBD2a to OBD2b, or vice versa. However, as i've stated before your stock H22 ecu will work just fine. Our h22's have 2 sensors located on the oil pump that is needed for the car to run properly, however JDM motors have these sensors in their distributors, similar to obd1 style distributors. I'm not sure if you need to swap it over since you have the f20b ecu, unless the conversion harness accounts for it. as for how the car drives, depending on which tranny you get or use (stock vs jdm lsd), will make up the difference in how the car feels over stock. between 1-3.5k RPM's you'll feel the torque difference, not so much in 4k-VTEC rpm's where you'll feel it pull hard.

you covered it pretty much. as for ecu's go, if he runs his current ecu he'll to run knock sensor. if he doesn't want to run a knock sensor then he has to run a p28 and or p72... I can't believe I remember this stuff lol...

Ace

ps it's easier if he swaps the dist.
__________________


Last edited by T.E.L.; 09-12-2011 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 01:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)
built585Lude is on a distinguished road
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

wether its obd1 or obd2a or b it doesn't really matter. Obd1 uses all the sensors in the distributor and obd2 has them around your crank behind the timing cover. swaping the engine won't be hard as the f20b is basically the same as an h22. I just recently swaped one into a 95 accord with no issues and did not have to swap intake manifold. i however did not use the stock ecu since it was turbo we used a 0bd1 p28 with conversion harness. if you have already swapped a h22 in it once you should be good.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:03 PM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: WI
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
RicknRolla is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to RicknRolla
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

Quote:
Originally Posted by T.E.L. View Post
if its not obd1 then why won't the ecu plug right in to your fifth gen? I'll give you an example: I've done a few swaps before. One was a 2000 Euro R H22 swap in my 98 lude and that wiring was obd1. the same thing is true with f20b. Like the person who posted above this reply use your current wiring harness. In otherworse convert it to obd2.

Oil pump? do some research and you'll find out all you need to know because it doesn't look like you are ready for this swap.

Ace
My concern was never whether or not the ecu will plug in. I know it will. I was wondering if there were, in general, any issues or major modifications necessary needed to complete this swap. I want this to go in and quickly is all.
I've been looking for a detailed list of parts needed and what not but have yet to find one.

Thanks to everyone for the info! Hopefully I get this in and started asap!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2011, 05:37 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
iTrader: (0)
built585Lude is on a distinguished road
Re: 5th gen F20b questions...

It will be pretty straight forward, just swap everything from the old motor to the new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F20B into SH gchampaninh 5th Gen Honda Prelude 24 05-15-2014 10:37 AM
f20b slvr92lude General Tech Talk 16 09-20-2012 09:58 PM
H22-F20B johnnyH22 5th Gen Honda Prelude 0 12-21-2010 01:59 PM
F20b swap into 95 LycosaLude 4th Gen Honda Prelude 0 11-17-2010 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


Copyright © 2006-2009 PreludeZone.com All Rights Reserved.