Honda Prelude Forum
 
Go Back   Honda Prelude Forum > Tech-Talk > 5th Gen Honda Prelude

Thread Title
F20 to H22 swap?

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2009, 11:07 AM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
naxoz is on a distinguished road
F20 to H22 swap?

Hi

Have anybody here done this swap?

Do you have a guide if so?


Mvh from Norway:)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2009, 11:21 AM
partyman09's Avatar
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 467
iTrader: (0)
partyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond reputepartyman09 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F20 to H22 swap?

Well the h22a swap is very straight forward. The h22a bolts right in and uses pretty much everything from the h23 if anything is needed. You will have to switch to a ecu wit vtec on it such as a p28.Not sure if 5th gen uses a p28. Thats what i installed in my 4th gen tho. Very simple. If you search you can find this info.
__________________
"If your not breaking parts, your not going fast enough"

Last edited by partyman09; 10-16-2009 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2009, 02:04 PM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
naxoz is on a distinguished road
Re: F20 to H22 swap?

I forgot to tell that i am talking about a f20A Non vtec:)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-18-2009, 10:47 PM
Brash's Avatar
Super Roo mod

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Lucky Country
Posts: 5,846
iTrader: (2)
Brash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F20 to H22 swap?

Where you from mate?

Swapping to a H22 is kinda easy, but I'd reccommend just selling up and getting a car that's already got one. Your F20A equipped BB5 has smaller brakes and four lug hubs, both of which will make life very difficult.

You'll need (obviously) the engine, gearbox, mounts and ecu, etc. The easiest way would be to get some H22 driveshafts out of a fifth gen, which I believe won't bolt up to your four lug hubs. Not sure if the fourth gen ones are different to the fifth gen ones. That's another thing, make sure you get a fifth gen engine and ancilleries, we've got a member whose just had some dramas because he didn't realise that the fourth and fifth gen components are slightly different.

If you want to make life easy for yourself, buy a complete front cut and go from there. Or you could sell up, get a factory H22 car and pocket the difference, as the swap never works out as cheap as merely trading on a different car, and always takes longer.
__________________

Request for rep = NO REP. Kthxbi. IF YOU ASK A STUPID QUESTION, OR MAKE A STUPID STATEMENT, YOU WILL GET A STUPID ANSWER!

FIFTH GENERATION RESOURCE GUIDE <<<-- USE IT, USE IT, USE IT!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2009, 02:36 AM
I'm New
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
naxoz is on a distinguished road
Re: F20 to H22 swap?

Im from Norway:)

And, i dont have a BB5, i have a BB9 :)
I realise i have to change the brakes and stuff, but dosent the engine fit rigth inn?

Is the wiring hard? Since i dont have a vtec now, how hard would it be?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2009, 07:53 AM
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 362
iTrader: (0)
merlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond reputemerlin has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F20 to H22 swap?

Unless you have an absolutely immaculate 2.0L, I would do Brash suggests and sell up an buy a VTi. You will save yourself lots of time and money.
__________________

UKDM RHD 2000 2.2 VTi 4WS BB8 H22a8 - All Motor JDM RHD 1993 2.2 SI VTEC 2WS BB4 H22a
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-19-2009, 05:42 PM
Brash's Avatar
Super Roo mod

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Lucky Country
Posts: 5,846
iTrader: (2)
Brash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond reputeBrash has a reputation beyond repute
Re: F20 to H22 swap?

Quote:
Originally Posted by naxoz View Post
Im from Norway:)

And, i dont have a BB5, i have a BB9 :)
Well you got me, BB5 was a guess...

Quote:
Originally Posted by naxoz View Post
I realise i have to change the brakes and stuff, but dosent the engine fit rigth inn?
Yes and no. Engine mounts can be bought off the shelf and the engine itself will drop straight in with minimal effort. Possibly things like the A/C coil and the radiator are different but I"m not sure. This is something we need some more input on from places where both models were sold side by side.

Quote:
Originally Posted by naxoz View Post
Is the wiring hard? Since i dont have a vtec now, how hard would it be?
Going from what I've read with all the fourth gen people who've swapped in H22s, yes it is hard. Having not done it myself I can only comment from what I've read. If you can find a writeup for a fourth gen H22 conversion the story will be pretty similar.
__________________

Request for rep = NO REP. Kthxbi. IF YOU ASK A STUPID QUESTION, OR MAKE A STUPID STATEMENT, YOU WILL GET A STUPID ANSWER!

FIFTH GENERATION RESOURCE GUIDE <<<-- USE IT, USE IT, USE IT!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H22 swap or a new H23 BlazeYDH 4th Gen Honda Prelude 58 10-11-2009 03:52 PM
h22 swap capman86 4th Gen Honda Prelude 12 08-30-2009 10:58 PM
TRANNY SWAP ECU SWAP??? Macks97Lude General Tech Talk 3 05-25-2009 11:10 PM
5spd swap and JDM engine swap:update distant 5th Gen Honda Prelude 2 01-24-2009 10:48 AM
4WS Swap? Brusly BB4 Stance 9 04-06-2008 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2 © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


Copyright © 2006-2009 PreludeZone.com All Rights Reserved.